Rock Wall Rocks

Well as usual the title seems to elude me but I have the post content in my head.

The rock wall does rock!! Not literally — I’m pretty sure it will still be solid in 200 years. It is a pretty significant size and yet it just fits that spot so perfectly. Rather like it has been there for a long time.

It has certainly taken a long time to get to this stage with it. Yesterday and today felt like the fourth quarter in a really long football game — this feeling was probably brought on as we listened to yet another Rider game while we worked on our place. Today we put the last stones in place although there is still one remaining stair tread to go in place.

It is approximately 70 feet long and between 2 1/2 to 3 feet wide. The height varies with the projected height of the ground level necessary for proper drainage from the garage and the house. It is, on average, about 3 feet tall. I can’t even begin to guess how many rocks went into it and, interestingly enough, neither can Ron. I do know that the long term loan of a mixer has been a fabulous but I’ve long since lost track of how many loads of mortar we mixed. A good day was 4, an average day was 3 and one awesome day we did 5 when Spencer was helping. The finishing work, like most projects, takes most of the time and that was Ron’s domain. I did the rock picking, sorting, sand hauling and shoveling along with a lot of rock selection and some placement in the middle and back of the wall. As summer projects go it wasn’t stressful as we could leave it and nothing was exposed. It also wasn’t a very expensive project as the only materials were the cement and the sand to make mortar.

Two steps done and one to go.

Two steps done and one to go.

Ron posing after he had split that rock apart.

Ron posing after he had split that rock apart.

A load of flat rocks ready for the top.

A load of flat rocks ready for the top.

Even though we work hard on weekends I try hard to take the dogs out for a long walk on Sunday afternoon. It’s kind of a reward for all of us. This week I went in search of rocks for stage 2,3, and 4 of the rock wall stories and found myself down by the water to the east of the house. The dogs had a lovely swim and I got several cool shots. I picked this one to share because this post is all about rocks.

Sunny Sunday in the Summer.

Sunny Sunday in the Summer.

Bernie and Ron

PS Let me know if it loads better – I have changed back to a medium sized format for the pictures but I think they seem rather small for looking at. I have to keep the file size down here in Word Press and I’m trying to figure out how to do that. Ah — the learning curve!!

PPS I have also started another blog – something I have been contemplating for quite some time. I wanted one that I could “ramble” on about whatever topic (artistic in whatever aspect I wanted it to be as well as a place to share some of my writings) I wanted to address as I feel that this one is about the house and the projects within and outside of it. So you can find that blog at https://equipoiselife.wordpress.com/ ((maybe??))– it is another learning curve and I’m struggling a bit with sharing it and with what name you actually will see on it. Oh well — part of why I also wanted it was to continue to learn new things. Perhaps I should have just learned “twitter” instead.

Bernie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rock Wall Rocks

  1. Patti says:

    Really does look good! Love the treads too!

    Like

  2. Bev Signarowski says:

    Thanks for the update Bernie. I feel positively lazy compared to you two. Great to see everything taking shape. I will live vicriously through you when it comes to building & renovating as I have such a hard time with mess & delay! So good to see you in the summer. Love Bev

    Like

  3. Janice says:

    I love your pictures ………. thanks for keeping us updated on your progress ……. time for a nap now that I have exhausted myself reading about all that you do “in your spare time”. 😉 Love you lots!

    Like

Leave a Reply

