Pictures on the Wall

This won’t be a long blog entry but it is one that shows progress. We finally hung a picture!! Yes we did and it looks superb in the frame and on that particular wall. Our lovely friend Claire gave us a painting from a local artist of a prairie landscape. On a windy summer day the view out our door is similiar to the picture – the colors and the rolling hills. It sat on the wainscotting and each year at Christmas I would remove it to put up decorations and think “hm – I should get that framed”. Well off to Michael’s it went and back again in about 2 weeks. Fortunately it is not a plaster wall so hanging it wasn’t a huge ordeal with predrilling and having to be ultra careful. It will get rehung lower down the wall a bit “someday” when I get that piece of picture rail stripped, sanded, stained, varnished and installed.
P1019162.JPG
BUT for the meantime it looks great.
We also hung up a bulletin board in the “parlor” office. I found an old frame at an antique store (I do miss La Petite Mason now that it closed) and inserted a cork/white board behind it after I painted the frame. Ron then hung it carefully on the wall. It’s interesting to note that it is level according to the ceiling and the level but the bottom looks crooked! But I’m just happy to have a spot to hang a few office things so I’m not noticing that anymore.
cropped bulletin board.jpg
Nothing on the whiteboard portion as I don’t have a marker yet but it should say “book Lisbon hotel for April “
Well, I’m off to enjoy the sunshine and go for a snowshoe and then back to work on those screen/storm doors.
Bernie
PS Please leave a comment as to whether or not the photos are loading ok – I’ve changed the way that I am doing them since we got the new computer and I’m just wondering if they are loading faster, slower or the same for you.
TX (to leave a comment go to bottom of entry – type in your name, email address, your comment and then hit post. It will give you another screen that says something like “thanks for posting the adminstrator will review your comment >>>>it’s that easy!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pictures on the Wall

  1. Karin Closson says:

    Looks awesome! I love the color of the wall with the picture on it. Waiting until it warms up to come out and see the progress in person.
    Karin

    Like

  2. Lesley says:

    Your photos look just great and load very quickly. No problems at this end and I appreciate the lengths you go to to get it right!

    Like

  3. Patti Erikson-Reynolds says:

    That picture is beautiful, Bernie and it really does look like your land! Love the frame on your bulletin board too. It’s a gorgeous day; happy snowshoeing!

    Like

  4. Christine says:

    Bernie photo looks marvellous. Who is the local artist? Unbelievable how you find the time for blogging.
    PERHAPS CLAIRE WHEN READING THIS WILL LEAVE THE NAME OF THE ARTIST – WE CAN’T MAKE IT OUT FROM HIS SIGNATURE ON THE BACK.

    Like

  5. Ruth Speiser says:

    Bernie, I don’t leave many comments, but I always enjoy reading your blog. All of the pictures look great.

    Like

  6. Georgina says:

    Let me know when you have more framing that needs to get done, I have a friend…

    Like

  7. Claire says:

    The artist is John Kaufman who was one of the artists we represented when I was involved in ARTWORKS Gallery here in Saskatoon a number of years ago.

    Like

  8. Helen Johnson says:

    Photo looks great! You are doing a superb job!
    Helen

    Like

  9. maria truchan-Tataryn says:

    Bernie, the photos are truly wonderful. They make my heart ache, missing the beauty of SK!

    Like

Leave a Reply

